The HPSEBL and M/s New Dhauladhar Hydro Projects

Filing No. 29 of 2024

26.02.2024

Present:

Sh. Kamlesh Saklani, Authorised Representative alongwith Sh. Mandeep Singh, Chief Engineer (SO) for the Joint Petitioner No. 1.

Sh. Vikas Chauhan, Ld. Counsel for the Joint Petitioner No. 2

DAILY ORDER

Office report seen. This is a Joint Petition under Section 86(1)(b) of the Electricity Act, 2003 filed by the Petitioners for approval of the Power Purchase Agreement to be executed by the HPSEBL with M/s New Dhauladhar Hydro Projects (1.00 MW) located on Baner Khad, a tributary of Beas River in Beas Basin in District Kangra, H.P.

As per the Petition, 'One Time Amnesty' was granted to the Joint Petitioner No. 2 and as per the timelines of the 'One Time Amnesty' incorporated in the SIA signed on 06.02.2021, the Joint Petitioner No. 2 was required to sign the Power Purchase Agreement within a period of one month from the date of signing of SIA and the zero date of start of construction was within 12 months after the signing of the SIA, extendable to further period of 12 months. However, there is no explanation of the delay of filing the Petition for approval of PPA after such a long period. Similarly, no

explanation of extending the period of SCOD uptill 05.02.2024 has been offered in the Petition.

In the circumstances, we are opinion that the HIMURJA is necessary party for the disposal of the Petition. Accordingly, the HIMURJA through its Chief Executive Officer is ordered to be impleded as Respondent in the Petition. Let notice to the HIMURJA be issued to returnable for 22.03.2024 with a direction to file a detailed reply in respect of adherence of the timeline of the 'One Time Amnesty' Scheme and consequent action for non adherence of the same.

The Joint Petitioner No. 2 is also directed to file a detailed affidavit within a period of 10 days in respect of non adherence of the timelines provided in the 'One Time Amnesty' Scheme/SIA and delay in commissioning in the Project with advance copy to the Joint Petitioner No. 1 and the Respondent.

List on 22.03.2024 at 11.00 AM.

-Sd- -Sd- -Sd
(Shashi Kant Joshi) (Yashwant Singh Chogal) (Devendra Kumar Sharma)

Member Member (Law) Chairman